Harbin Will Offer Transit without Visa 72 Hours for Foreign Visitors

The State Council of China has ratified the transit visa-free policy that Harbin will offer transit without visa 72 hours for foreign visitors with third countries visas to transit at Harbin. The policy will come into force at soonest time in April of 2015.

Foreign visitors, holders of passports issued by countries on the 72-hour visa-free list of political transit and stay for transit up to 72 hours in Harbin, can apply for a visa-free transit to stay in China with the immigration inspection authority to Harbin Taiping International Airport.

According to the regulations of the Ministry of Public Security of the People's Republic of China, foreign visitors who meet all the following conditions may apply for transit in Harbin without a visa:

1. They are people with valid passport in the following list of 51 countries.

2. They are in order to transit through Harbin Taiping International Airport to a third country or a third area.

3. They travel with valid international travel documents with clear detailed departure information from the Harbin Taiping International Airport within 72 hours, it is required.

(qualified third-country destination entry requirements, valid air tickets to the third country or area)


    They can only in the administrative region of Harbin City.

    The enter and the departure airport must be the same one. This policy only applies to foreign visitors who enter, stay and departure of Harbin.

    The 72 hours will be counted from the moment visitors get their transit permits, but not the time when they land at the airport.

  The stay time cannot extend.

72 hours transit visa-free Policy applies to passport holders of the following countries:

European Schengen Countries (of 24 countries)

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, and Sweden.

Other European Countries (of 13 countries)

Russia, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, Serbia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Macedonia, and Albania.

American Countries (of 6 countries)

United States, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, and Chile.   

Countries in Oceania (of 2 countries)  

Australia and New Zealand.

Asian Countries (of 6 countries)

South Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, UAE, and Qatar.

Questions & Answers about Harbin Will Offer Transit without Visa 72 Hours for Foreign Visitors

Asked by Sandy from Singapore 2015-07-17

I am Singaporean and wish to visit Harbin in Jan to see the ice lantern, but before that any transit country we can stay a few days before heading to harbin?

Answered by Ice Festival Harbin    2015-07-17

I would recommend South Korea or Thailand to you.

Asked by Zulkarnain Bin Anwar from Singapore 2015-05-19

I am Singaporean with family of 4, going to Harbin in December 2015 . Is there a need for me to apply for Visa to enter your country

Answered by Ice Festival Harbin    2015-05-19

All visitors to China require a Visa which MUST be obtained before arrival in the country. The usual visa is valid for 3 months from the time of issue and is good for multiple entries to the country. Visas are issued by all Chinese embassies and consulates and can take up to 1-2 weeks to process.

Ask Question

In this section